Barbara McPhee Mentoring Award

The Barbara McPhee Mentoring Award is awarded biannually (during odd-numbered years) at the HFESA Annual Conference, commencing in 2017.

The criteria for this award include:

  • Awarded to a HFESA member in good standing.
  • The person submitting the award application has received mentoring from the person they are nominating for the award.
  • The award will be judged on a 500 word story about the mentor, the significance of their mentoring and the nature of the mentor relationship with the mentee. The story will be suitable for being read aloud during a HFESA award ceremony.
  • “Significance of mentoring” could include any of the following:
    • Promoting excellence in HF/E.
    • Advancement of knowledge within HF/E.
    • Providing career development or workforce opportunities above and beyond a conventional employer/employee or supervisor/student relationship.
    • Encouragement and support of service to HFESA.
  • “Nature of the mentor relationship with the mentee” could include any of the following:
    • Time commitments or other sacrifices made by the mentor.
    • The length of time of the mentor/mentee relationship (that is, the mentor needs to have provided more than one-off advice to the mentee).
  • The Award is in the form of a certificate for the mentor, and the story will be read out during the award ceremony for this award.

Past recipients

2017 Michael Stevenson
2018 Not awarded
2019 Marcia Lusted

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar